128 Foods That Contain Gluten

 

whatisgluten

If you’re looking for a list of GLUTEN-FREE FOODS, click here.

Often those new to the gluten-free life are not sure what products and ingredients actually contatin gluten. Here’s a quick list to help you out!

 

These foods are unsafe for a Celiac’s, or anyone with any for of NCGS… basically and those who need to follow a Gluten-Free Diet

courtesy: www.celiac.com 

  1. Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
  2. Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
  3. Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein 
  4. Atta Flour
  5. Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
  6. Barley Hordeum vulgare
  7. Barley Malt
  8. Beer (most contain barley or wheat)
  9. Bleached Flour 
  10. Bran
  11. Bread Flour
  12. Brewer’s Yeast
  13. Brown Flour
  14. Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts) 
  15. Bulgur Wheat
  16. Cereal Binding
  17. Chilton
  18. Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum) 
  19. Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  20. Cookie Crumbs
  21. Cookie Dough
  22. Cookie Dough Pieces
  23. Couscous
  24. Criped Rice
  25. Dinkle (Spelt)
  26. Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate 
  27. Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
  28. Edible Coatings
  29. Edible Films
  30. Edible Starch
  31. Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
  32. Emmer (Triticum dicoccon) 
  33. Enriched Bleached Flour
  34. Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
  35. Enriched Flour
  36. Farina 
  37. Farina Graham 
  38. Farro
  39. Filler
  40. Flour (normally this is wheat)
  41. Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  42. Germ 
  43. Graham Flour
  44. Granary Flour
  45. Groats (barley, wheat) 
  46. Hard Wheat
  47. Heeng
  48. Hing
  49. Hordeum Vulgare Extract
  50. Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
  51. Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  52. Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
  53. Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
  54. Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein 
  55. Kamut (Pasta wheat) 
  56. Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
  57. Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
  58. Kluski Pasta
  59. Maida (Indian wheat flour)
  60. Malt
  61. Malted Barley Flour
  62. Malted Milk
  63. Malt Extract
  64. Malt Syrup
  65. Malt Flavoring
  66. Malt Vinegar 
  67. Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum) 
  68. Matza
  69. Matzah
  70. Matzo
  71. Matzo Semolina 
  72. Meringue
  73. Meripro 711
  74. Mir 
  75. Nishasta
  76. Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum) 
  77. Orzo Pasta
  78. Pasta
  79. Pearl Barley
  80. Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum) 
  81. Perungayam
  82. Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
  83. Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum) 
  84. Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  85. Roux
  86. Rusk
  87. Rye
  88. Seitan
  89. Semolina
  90. Semolina Triticum
  91. Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum) 
  92. Small Spelt
  93. Spirits (Specific Types)
  94. Spelt (Triticum spelta)
  95. Sprouted Wheat or Barley
  96. Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein 
  97. Strong Flour
  98. Suet in Packets
  99. Tabbouleh 
  100. Tabouli
  101. Teriyaki Sauce
  102. Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii) 
  103. Triticale X triticosecale
  104. Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
  105. Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
  106. Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
  107. Udon (wheat noodles)
  108. Unbleached Flour 
  109. Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum) 
  110. Vital Wheat Gluten
  111. Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
  112. Wheat amino acids
  113. Wheat Bran Extract
  114. Wheat, Bulgur 
  115. Wheat Durum Triticum 
  116. Wheat Germ Extract
  117. Wheat Germ Glycerides
  118. Wheat Germ Oil
  119. Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  120. Wheat Grass (can contain seeds) 
  121. Wheat Nuts
  122. Wheat Protein
  123. Wheat Triticum aestivum 
  124. Wheat Triticum Monococcum
  125. Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
  126. Whole-Meal Flour
  127. Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim) 
  128. Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides) 

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Color4
Baking Powder4
Caramel Color1, 3
Caramel Flavoring1, 3
Clarifying Agents4
Coloring4
Dextrins1,7
Dextrimaltose1,7
Diglycerides4
Dry Roasted Nuts4
Emulsifiers4
enzymes4
Fat Replacer4
Flavoring6
Food Starch1, 4
Food Starch Modified1, 4
Glucose Syrup4
Glycerides4
Gravy Cubes4
Ground Spices4
HPP4
HVP4
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein4
Hydrolyzed Protein4
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein4
Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate4
Hydroxypropylated Starch4
Maltose4
Miso4
Mixed Tocopherols4
Modified Food Starch1, 4
Modified Starch1, 4
Mono and Diglycerides1, 4
Monoglycerides1, 4
Natural Flavoring6
Natural Flavors6
Natural Juices4
Non-dairy Creamer4
Pregelatinized Starch4
Protein Hydrolysates4
Seafood Analogs4
Seasonings4
Sirimi4
Smoke Flavoring4
Soba Noodles4
Soy Sauce4
Soy Sauce Solids4
Sphingolipids4
Stabilizers4
Starch1, 4
Stock Cubes4
Suet4
Tocopherols4
Vegetable Broth4
Vegetable Gum4
Vegetable Protein4
Vegetable Starch4
Vitamins4
Wheat Starch5

 1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.

3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

5) Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada.

6) According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): [t]he terns natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.

7) Dextrin is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after: (1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and (2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch. (1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin. 

High-risk groups for celiac disease

Screening for celiac disease should be performed every 3 years in high-risk group asymptomatic individuals, because they may have silent disease. If they develop symptoms, testing should be done earlier. Alternatively, such individuals may be tested for the celiac disease predisposing genotypes: HLA DQ2 and DQ8. If they have neither genotype, the chance of them having celiac disease is as low as 0.5%[21] and no further testing is needed. On the other hand, a positive genetic testing is not as helpful because these genotypes are frequently encountered in the general population.

 

High-risk groups for celiac disease are listed below:

  • First degree relatives of patients with celiac disease
  • Turner syndrome
  • Williams syndrome
  • Down syndrome
  • Diabetes mellitus type 1
  • IgA deficiency
  • Autoimmune thyroiditis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free Series on "Going Gluten Free, Easily!"
Get it here!