Naturally Gluten Free Foods

GRAINS, FLOURS, & STARCHES

(make sure these are certified Gluten Free)  

DOWNLOAD for PRINT HERE: Natually GF Foods list

  • Rice (white or brown)
  • Rice flour (white or brown)
  • Quinoa (several color varieties available including traditional “white” as well as red, black and orange)
  • Nut flours (almond meal, chestnut flour, cashew flour, etc.)
  • Cornstarch, Cornmeal, & Polenta (If you are concerned about GMO products, be sure to locate a gluten-free, non-GMO certified brand.)
  • Potato starch & flour
  • Millet & Millet flour
  • Sorghum flour (If you are allergic to some grasses, you may also be allergic to sorghum.
  • Teff
  • Tapioca flour (This is actually a starch.)
  • Soy flour
  • Pea & Bean flours (Green or yellow pea, fava bean flour, garbanzo bean flour, etc.; note, while pea flours do not add a flavor to baked goods, green pea flour will add a distinct green color; bean flours impart a distinct bean flavor some are not excited about.)
  • Amaranth
  • Certified gluten-free Oats only
  • Arrowroot flour (This is a starch.)

DAIRY

  • Milk
  • Cheese (without added flavorings that may contain gluten; check labels on blue cheese, as some is cultured from wheat bread.)
  • Butter
  • Yogurt (without extras like oats, cookie bits, etc., that may contain gluten)

DAIRY ALTERNATIVES

  • Plant-based milks like coconut, rice and almond milks (read labels carefully)
  • Daiya Vegan “cheese” shreds, wedges and slices
  • Coconut or Soy Milk cultured products (“yogurts”)

FRUITS, VEGGIES, PROTEINS

  • Fresh, frozen, or canned fruits & vegetables
  • Meats with no added seasonings, sauces, or gravies
  • Seafood with no added seasonings, sauces, or gravies
  • Nuts & nut butters (without added flavorings)
  • Eggs

SEASONINGS & CONDIMENTS

  • Lemon or lime juice
  • Salt & pepper
  • Herbs & spices (make sure you’re buying the whole herb and grinding your own, or purchasing pre-ground from a trusted source)
  • Condiments like ketchup, mustard (read labels on blended mustard products), mayonnaise (again, read the label, most mainstream brands are safe)
  • Wine (check labels on blended wines, ciders, and wine coolers – malt is not safe)
  • Vinegar (most are fine; check labels on flavored vinegars; AVOID malt vinegar, as malt is derived from barley, which is a gluten grain.)
  • Oils (Be sure to check labels on oils with added ingredients or those infused with flavorings.)
  • Coconut Aminos (as a soy sauce replacement), I use Coconut Secrets brand.
  • Kimchi – I like Kings Brand

WARNING: Always Read Labels!

Creamed soups and sauces, salad dressings, frozen meals, frozen starches (like tater tots), would possibly have added gluten.

 

DOWNLOAD for PRINT HERE: Natually GF Foods list

Back to Gluten 101

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free Series on "Going Gluten Free, Easily!"
Get it here!